Your Family Is Next

I sometimes worry that no one likes the posts I’m most proud of. Yesterday’s was one of those, and, reaching back, this one about language and otherness stands there, too.

So you can imagine my surprise—and glee—when a friend put me on to Andrew Devereaux’s “‘What Chew Know About Down the Hill?”: Baltimore Club Music, Subgenre Crossover, and the New Subcultural Capital of Race and Space.” Plus, as a failed academic, I take no small pleasure in being prominently cited in the Journal of Popular Music Studies.

Also, I have decided that Whitting is one of the most profoundly obnoxious creations in the history of making up shit. SOCIAL SATIRE, people: It’s supposed to clunk a little!

UPDATE: That link is now to full text. I have no idea why it wasn’t before.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Your Family Is Next”

  1. morewire Says:

    For the first few episodes, Whitting reminded me of someone that I couldn’t place; not just in terms of appearance, but I got the feeling that I had seen that same character before.

    I finally nailed it down. In terms of look and performance, he’s almost exactly like Rutger Hauer’s character in Batman Begins (IMDB informs me his character is named Earle).

    I dig Rutger Hauer (“I WANT MORE LIFE, FATHCKER”), but he’s not exactly the kind of actor you want to be reminded of in a show like The Wire.

  2. parker Says:

    hey guy. long time. maybe you can help me. someone turned me on to bmore club a few months ago but they just had a mix cdr with no artist names or track titles or anything. i have since been desperately searching for this one apocalyptic as hell jam that has some kids on it sped up chanting “git yo hands up high keep them in the sky everybody on the floor dance to your feet get sore” and it has one of those (seemlingly)classic bmore like slow buuuuuuuuuuuu nuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu nuUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUHHHHHH 2001 samples goin in it and it rules. anyways cant seeem to find it. any idea what the hell im talking about?


Leave a Reply

